Updated: Boise State makes changes to basketball schedule (with TV times)

By Brian Murphy
bmurphy@idahostatesman.com

Full schedule

DATE DAY OPPONENT LOCATION TIME TV

Nov. 2 Friday St. Martin's (Exh.) Taco Bell Arena, 7:30 p.m.#

Nov. 11 Sunday Texas Southern Taco Bell Arena, 2 p.m.

Nov. 13 Tuesday Oakland Taco Bell Arena, 7:30 p.m.#

Nov. 18 Sunday Louisiana-Lafayette Taco Bell Arena, 1 p.m.

Nov. 20 Tuesday at Michigan State East Lansing, Mich.

Nov. 24 Saturday UC Santa Barbara Taco Bell Arena, 2 p.m.

Nov. 28 Wednesday at Creighton Omaha, Neb.

Dec. 2 Sunday at Seattle Key Arena, Seattle 3 p.m.

Dec. 5 Wednesday at Utah Salt Lake City, Utah

Dec.14 Friday LSU Taco Bell Arena, 7 p.m.

Dec. 23 Sunday vs. New Orleans Las Vegas

Dec. 30 Sunday Corban Taco Bell Arena, 2 p.m.

Jan. 2 Wednesday at Texas-Arlington Arlington, Texas

Jan. 5 Saturday Walla Walla Taco Bell Arena, 7 p.m.

Jan. 9 Wednesday at Wyoming* Laramie, Wyo.

Jan. 16 Wednesday New Mexico* Taco Bell Arena, 6 p.m.

Jan. 19 Saturday at Air Force* USAFA, Colo.

Jan. 23 Wednesday Fresno State* Taco Bell Arena, 6 p.m.

Jan. 26 Saturday at Nevada* Reno, Nev.

Jan. 30 Wednesday at Colorado State* Fort Collins, Colo.

Feb. 2 Saturday UNLV* Taco Bell Arena, 7 p.m.

Feb. 6 Wednesday at San Diego State* San Diego

Feb. 9 Saturday Wyoming* Taco Bell Arena, 6 p.m.

Feb. 16 Saturday at New Mexico* Albuquerque, N.M.

Feb. 20 Wednesday Air Force* Taco Bell Arena, 6 p.m.

Feb. 23 Saturday at Fresno State* Fresno, Calif.

Feb. 27 Wednesday Nevada* Taco Bell Arena

March 2 Saturday Colorado State* Taco Bell Arena, 6 p.m.

March 5 Tuesday at UNLV* Las Vegas

March 9 Saturday San Diego State* Taco Bell Arena, 1:30 p.m. (NBC Sports)

* — indicates Mountain West game

# — will start 30 minutes after end of women's game

Schedule highlights:

• Of the 28 games, 19 will be played against teams that appeared in postseason tournaments a year ago, including 10 match-ups with 2012 NCAA Tournament participants.

• "This might be the most difficult schedule Boise State has played in school history," coach Leon Rice said. “More than half of our games are against teams that are probably going to be playing in the NCAA Tournament at the end of the year. We’re also bringing some great opponents to Taco Bell Arena with our nonconference and Mountain West schedules.

“We’re challenging our young team by playing the best. They’ve worked hard this offseason, and they have to continue to improve to stand up to a schedule like the one we’re playing.”

• The schedule does not include a game with Idaho, but Rice said the teams are expected to play a neutral site game in Boise.

Earlier posts

Boise State's men's basketball team is still working to complete its non-conference schedule, but the Broncos have some high-profile games lined up already.

The Broncos will visit national power Michigan State on Nov. 20 and will play in-state rival Idaho in a neutral site game, likely in Downtown Boise, coach Leon Rice said. Additionally, Boise State will host LSU at Taco Bell Arena and visit Utah on Dec. 5.

Boise State will visit Creighton on Nov. 28 as part of the Mountain West-Missouri Valley Challenge. The Broncos host Big West member UC Santa Barbara on Nov. 24.

Mountain West schedule

Boise State is scheduled to open its final season of Mountain West men's basketball play at Wyoming on Jan. 9, the school and league announced Friday.

The Broncos' first conference home game is against New Mexico on Jan. 16. Boise State's regular-season finale against San Diego State at Taco Bell Arena is on March 9 and will be televised by NBC Sports Network.

Boise State will play all 16 league games on Wednesday or Saturday. The conference tournament is March 13-16.

Additional television games could also be announced at a later date.

Boise State is schedule to move its basketball program to the Western Athletic Conference for the 2013-14 season, though the school is negotiating with the Big West Conference.

TV coverage

Everyone complained about the Mountain TV network, now its gone. We have one game on NBC, enjoy.

What if they cut it down to show a series preview?

----------

You fry wants with that?

Weak schedule

Dec. 30 Sunday Corban Taco Bell Arena NAIA & NCCAA

Jan. 5 Saturday Walla Walla Taco Bell Arena NCCAA

Wow these games are not even NCAA divison 3 members. NNU would be more of a game that these teams

So don't buy a ticket to those games...

And don't let me catch you in a chicken suit protesting that the 1% made you do it.

----------

You fry wants with that?