Our Very First Virtual Book Club

We're calling them Read-Alongs.

Each of us will pick a book in our genre for you to read along with us. We'll post discussion questions here at the blog as the weeks progress, and then at the end of the month, we'll all get together and host a TweetChat to discuss the book under the hashtag of #IDS_ReadAlong.

Here's what we're reading for June:

 

Image

Rachel - YA Contemproary The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson: Lennie plays second clarinet in the school orchestra and has always happily been second fiddle to her charismatic older sister, Bailey. Then Bailey dies suddenly, and Lennie is left at sea without her anchor. Overcome by emotion, Lennie soon finds herself torn between two boys: Bailey's boyfriend, Toby, and Joe, the charming and musically gifted new boy in town. While Toby can't see her without seeing Bailey and Joe sees her only for herself, each offers Lennie something she desperately needs. But ultimately, it's up to Lennie to find her own way toward what she really needs-without Bailey. A remarkable debut novel perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. TweetChat will be held Wednesday, July 11th @ 2 PM MST 

 

 

Image

Pam - Historic Paranormal Firelight by Kristen Callihan: London, 1881: Once the flames are ignited . . . Miranda Ellis is a woman tormented. Plagued since birth by a strange and powerful gift, she has spent her entire life struggling to control her exceptional abilities. Yet one innocent but irreversible mistake has left her family's fortune decimated and forced her to wed London's most nefarious nobleman. They will burn for eternity . . . Lord Benjamin Archer is no ordinary man. Doomed to hide his disfigured face behind masks, Archer knows it's selfish to take Miranda as his bride. Yet he can't help being drawn to the flame-haired beauty whose touch sparks a passion he hasn't felt in a lifetime. When Archer is accused of a series of gruesome murders, he gives in to the beastly nature he has fought so hard to hide from the world. But the curse that haunts him cannot be denied. Now, to save his soul, Miranda will enter a world of dark magic and darker intrigue. For only she can see the man hiding behind the mask. TweetChat will be held Wednesday, July 12th @ 2 PM MST This been changed to Monday, July 16th @ 2 PM MST

 

Image

Janice - Mystery/Suspense V for Vengeance by Sue Grafton: A spiderweb of dangerous relationships lies at the heart of V is for Vengeance, Sue Grafton's daring new Kinsey Millhone novel. A woman with a murky past who kills herself-or was it murder? A spoiled kid awash in gambling debt who thinks he can beat the system. A lovely woman whose life is about to splinter into a thousand fragments. A professional shoplifting ring working for the Mob, racking up millions from stolen goods. A wandering husband, rich and ruthless. A dirty cop so entrenched on the force he is immune to exposure. A sinister gangster, conscienceless and brutal. A lonely widower mourning the death of his lover, desperate for answers, which may be worse than the pain of his loss. A private detective, Kinsey Millhone, whose thirty-eighth-birthday gift is a punch in the face that leaves her with two black eyes and a busted nose. And an elegant and powerful businessman whose dealings are definitely outside the law: the magus at the center of the web. V: Victim. Violence. Vengeance. TweetChat will be held Wednesday, July 13th @ 2:30 PM MST 

Um, how do you accomplish that at 140 words per message?

----------

You fry wants with that?

With several 140 character messages :)

.

That's a matinee.

----------

You fry wants with that?